John is a marine scientist with over 35 years’ experience conducting, leading, translating and communicating science, focussed on conservation and sustainable use of marine ecosystems and resources.

For the last 15 years, as Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Institute of Marine Science (2011-2017); Chief Scientist of the Australian Antarctic Program and Senior Executive in the Australian Government (2008-2011); and Deputy Chief of CSIRO’s Marine and Atmospheric Research Division (2003-2008), he has lead development of national and global science strategies, major research programs, science capability (people, research infrastructure and partnerships), and stakeholder engagement across research portfolios encompassing marine ecology, fisheries, coastal systems, physical and chemical oceanography, atmospheric chemistry and climate science.

John is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, Co-Chair of the UNESCO-Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission Global Ocean Observing System and a member of Australia’s National Climate Science Advisory Committee. For over 25 years, as a trusted advisor to ministers, governments and industry, has held Board positions and high level advisory roles on the Great Barrier Reef, national and global fisheries, Antarctic research and National science and research policy. From 2011-2016 he was Chair of the National Marine Science Committee and in that capacity was instrumental in developing the “National Marine Science Plan 2015-25 : Driving the development of Australia’s blue economy.”