Our research projects require close collaboration with the scientific community and the support of the institutions that study and manage the Reef.

The Great Barrier Reef Foundation funds priority projects addressing threats to the Great Barrier Reef.

The Foundation is directly advised by an International Scientific Advisory Committee (or ISAC). ISAC is made up of the leaders of research and management on the Reef, including the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, the Australian Institute of Marine Science, University of Queensland, James Cook University, and CSIRO. Independently chaired by Dr Paul Greenfield AO, the committee plays a critical role in the selection, development and implementation of significant research projects with the Foundation’s partners. This is an important component of our rigorous governance process for funding priority research projects.

ISAC membership:

  • Dr Paul Greenfield AO - ISAC Chair and Director, Great Barrier Reef Foundation
  • Professor Aidan Byrne - Provost and Senior Vice-President, University of Queensland
  • Professor Chris Cocklin - Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research & Innovation), James Cook University
  • Dr Paul Hardisty - Chief Executive Officer, Australian Institute of Marine Science
  • Professor Ove Hoegh-Guldberg - Director Global Change Institute, University of Queensland
  • Ms Anna Marsden - Managing Director, Great Barrier Reef Foundation
  • Dr Russell Reichelt - Executive Chairman, Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
  • Dr Christian Roth - Research Director, CSIRO
  • Mr Steve Sargent - Director, Great Barrier Reef Foundation
  • Dr John Schubert - Chairman, Great Barrier Reef Foundation

All ISAC members generously volunteer their time and do not receive any remuneration for this role.